Umphrey’s McGee is an American rock band originally from South Bend, Indiana. Formed by students at the University of Notre Dame in 1997, UM has continued to add members. The band experiments with many musical styles, including rock, metal, funk, jazz, blues, reggae, electronic, bluegrass, and folk. They have toured regularly and released several albums.

Formed by students at the University of Notre Dame in December 1997, members were guitarist/vocalist Brendan Bayliss, bassist Ryan Stasik, keyboardist Joel Cummins, and drummer Mike Mirro. Umphrey’s McGee combined members of Tashi Station and Stomper Bob, two Notre Dame rock bands.[1] Early concerts consisted of both originals and cover songs, including Guns N’ Roses’ “Patience” and Vince Guaraldi’s Peanuts theme “Linus and Lucy” ,as well as songs by Phish, moe., and The Grateful Dead.

In mid-1998, after 8 months together, the band released their debut album, Greatest Hits Vol. III. Having a released studio disc allowed them to more readily book live performances. Though long out of print, the album contains songs that remain staples of Umphrey’s live sets, such as “Divisions”, “Phil’s Farm”, “FF”, and “All in Time”.